City Council

Washington, Kansas, has a Mayor-Council form of government.  There are five members on the City Council.  Mayor and council members are elected to four year terms, with three positions elected every two years. 

Meetings are held the first Monday of each month at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers at City Hall, located at 301 C Street.  If the first Monday of the month falls on a holiday, the meeting will be held on the first Tuesday of the month.

The Mayor presides at all meetings of the City Council.  The Mayor appoints  members to City boards with the approval and consent of the Council. 

The Mayor votes on Council business only in the case of a tie. 

If you would like request to be on the City Council Agenda, please review the policy and form below, and submit to City Hall.

Request to Be Placed on Council Agenda

Elected Officials

(click to email)
Ryan Kern, Mayor 213 W 3rd Street December 2023  
Theresa Herrs 120 W 3rd Street December 2023 (785) 325-2620
Roxanne Schottel, Council President 600 Woodland Drive December 2023 (785) 541-0418
Kevin Elder   January 2022 (785) 325-3168
Don Imhoff 318W 1st Street January 2022 (785) 325-2519
Melanie Bryant 101 Pierce Street January 2022 (785) 562-6788




Download free Dreamweaver templates at